Wednesday, June 27, 2018

The 2018 Transformation Awards Gala: Special Event Review

The Transformation Awards gala, held on Friday, June 15th 2018 at the Liberty Grand in Toronto, was a resounding success. The 150 Extraordinary Canadians legacy book was launched at the event. The book profiles leaders and innovators for their corporate, public sector and philanthropic contributions to the progress of Canada and for making the world a better place. 
Since 2010, the awards program, also known as Harmony or Diversity, has recognized unique success stories. It features a red carpet reception, networking, sumptuous dinner, world-class entertainment, inspiring recipients, high profile presenters, a classy ceremony and youth from the Crossover Mentorship Program. Twelve distinguished recipients were honoured.
The Leadership Award was presented to Anthony Lacavera, Founder, Wind Mobile and Chairman of Globalive; Entertainment, legendary Inuk singer Susan Aglukark; Lifetime Achievement, Pyarali Nanji, philanthropist and Belle-Pak Packaging President; Innovation, Brian Deck, Smooth Commerce CEO; Enterprise, Moniruz Zaman, Bullion Mart CEO; and Excellence Award, Christopher Gordon, Partner, EY.
The Media Award was presented to Deepa Mehta, Oscar-Nominated Director; Public Service, David Mitchell, Assistant Deputy Minister; Harmony, Maria Saras-Voutsinas, Executive Director, National Ethnic Press & Media Council; Heritage, Shiu King Kong; Community Service; Charity Lebeanya, Executive Director, Heritage Skills Development Centre; Legacy Award, Anton Kikas, President, Anton Kikas Limited.
Mark Beckles, Senior Director, Youth Strategy & Innovation, Royal Bank Of Canada, delivered the keynote address. Profiled in the 150 Extaordinary Canadians Legacy Book, the function involved investiture and designation of Mark Beckles as Fellow Of The Transformation Institute (FTI). The event will be broadcast on various television stations across Canada and will be in print, online and other media.
The Transformation Institute For Leadership & Innovation, which is federally incorporated, in association Silvertrust Media, presents the program. It also conducts mentorship, capacity building, research, citizenship initiatives, recognizes achievers to inspire the next generation and more. Sponsors have included TD Bank, Cadillac, Skylink, Ryerson University, RBC, Dream Insurance, Jodal Healthcare, Canadian Race Relations Foundation and many others.
The 150 Extraordinary Canadians legacy book is $30 in paperback, $50 hardcover. The full-colour, glossy, 332-page coffee table book is like no other! Success stories include Hollywood’s Titanic director James Cameron; music superstar Celine Dion; astronaut Chris Hadfield; hotel magnate Dr. Steve Gupta; Indigenous architect Douglas Cardinal; Royal Bank President David McKay; and mutual funds billionaire Michael Lee-Chin. Proceeds support the Crossover Mentorship Program.
Phone :  (416) 755-7788
Contacts :  Mina Wong, Simi Ikotun
Email :
Info :
Info :
Mark Beckles (centre) becomes Fellow Of The Transformation Institute before delivering the 2018 Keynote address. On the left is Moses A. Mawa, President of the institute; Dr. Tony Ruprecht, Director; Ajay Tandon, Director; and Deputy Chief Andre Crawford of York Regional Police, Master of Ceremonies.
Oscar-Nominated Director Deepa Mehta received the 2018 Media Award from Slava Levin, CEO of Ethnic Channels Group. Anthony Lacavera, Founder of Wind Mobile and Chairman of Globalive with Moses A. Mawa and Isaac Olowolafe Jr., CEO of Dream Maker Corporation. Sir Hakim Karimi, Founder & CEO of Hakim Optical!
Guests in the Liberty Grand garden during the cocktails reception; Peter Fahrenholtz, Consul General of Germany presents the Enterprise Award to Monaruz Zaman; Duncan Bureau, President of Air Canada Rouge presents the Excellence Award to Christopher Gordon of EY; Ramesh Chotai of Bromed Pharmaceuticals presents the Heritage Award to Charity Lebeanya; and other guests at the gala.
Slava Levin, CEO of Ethnic Channels Group; guest; Sasha Vivanovic, President of Nextologies; Toronto City Councillor Michael Thomson with guest; Lalit Pasricha, COO of Bullion Mart with wife; and Moniruz Zaman, CEO of Bullion Mart and recipient of the 2018 Enterprise Award with his family.
Dr. Hooley Mclaughlin with guest; Caroline Alabi, Managing Director of Jodal Healthcare; Anna Nadtotchii, centre, who sang the national anthem, with her family; Karen Lourdes of The Component Bed, who is featured in the 150 Legacy Book, with her hubby Jason.
Public Service Award recipient David Mitchell, Assistant Deputy Minister, Ontario Ministry of Children and Youth Services, centre, with guests at the cocktails reception for the 2018 Transformation Awards gala.
Philanthropist and Bell-Pak Packaging CEO, Pyarali Nanji, front centre, recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award holds his beloved wife Gulshan's hand, flanked by family members and guests; Susan Aglukark, recipient of the Entertainment Award with Andre Morriseau of CCAB and Millie Knapp of ANDPVA at the gala.
Ajay Tandon, Director, Transformation Institute, with his family; Christopher Gordon, recipient of the 2018 Professional Excellence Award with his wife; Isabel Cuellar of the Mississauga Latin Festival, who is featured in the 150 Legacy Book with guest; and Chibie Okoye with Jude Idada at the 2018 Transformation Awards gala.
Hon. Jean Augustine, former Minister, presents the Entertainment Award to music legend Susan Aglukark; Anton Kikas who received the Legacy Award with his family; Ariana Cuvin, who designed the Canada 150 logo; and Dr. Lennox Walker of Praise Cathedral and New Haven, who is also in the Legacy Book, with wife Dorett.
Surjit Babra, President of Skylink Group, who is in the publication, with daughter and wife; together with Patricia and Moses Mawa, principals of Silvertrust Media and the Transformation Institute For Leadership & Innovation as well as authors of the Legacy Book. Youth who were sponsored to attend the gala with their mentor.
David Mitchell, recipient of the Public Service Award with guests; Maria Saras-Voutshinas received the 2018 Harmony Award from Birhan Abate, Country Manager of Ethiopian Airlines; George Chukwu, host of Global Access on Afroglobal Television; and Brian Deck, CEO of Smooth Commerce Corporation with his wife.
Keynote Speaker Mark Beckles, who is in the 150 Extraordinary Canadians legacy book, with his family and associates from Royal Bank of Canada at the 2018 Transformation Awards gala; Dr. Liza Egbogah, creator of the Dr. Liza Pumps shoeline, who is also profiled in the 150 legacy book.
Brian Deck receives the Innovation Award from His Excellency Dr. Adeyinka Asekun, High Commissioner of Nigeria to Canada; Jim Pagiamtzis holds the new Envision Magazine, which has been re-branded from Diversity; guests at the gala; and Shiu King Kong, recipient of the Heritage Award accepts his award.
Surbhi with hubby Kundan Joshi, who is in the 150 legacy book admire the publication, which had just been unveiled at the 2018 Transformation Awards gala in Toronto. Anton Kikas, recipient of the 2018 Legacy Award and is also in the 150 legacy book shows off one of the inspiring spreads with astronaut Chri Hadfield.
Tel: (416) 755 7788

No comments:

Post a Comment